Department of Philosophy

Contact us

Visiting Address

The Department of Philosophy is located in central Uppsala just behind the University Library Carolina Rediviva in The English Park Campus - Centre for the Humanities. Find your way to the department (Google Maps).

Our visiting address is: Centre for the Humanities (Humanistiskt centrum), Building 2, Thunbergsvägen 3H. Map of the Centre for the Humanities.

Postal Address and Telephone

Postal Adress

Department of Philosophy
Uppsala University
Postal Box 627
751 26 Uppsala


+46 (0)18-471 00 00 (exchange) or +46 (0)18-471 + extension (direct)

Student Office and Course Administration

Course Administration: Ulrika Valdeson
Room: Eng2-2058
Telephone: 018-471 72 99
Opening hours: Monday-Thursday, 9.00-11.30 and 13-15

Subject Representatives


Elisabeth Schellekens Dammann

History of Philosophy

Pauliina Remes

Practical Philosophy

Folke Tersman

Theoretical Philosophy

Matti Eklund

Head of Department and Directors of Studies

Head of Department

Matti Eklund

Deputy Head of Department

Sharon Rider

Director of Studies (up to and including Master Level)

Rysiek Sliwinski

Director of Studies (Phd Graduate Level)

Elisabeth Schellekens Dammann


Financial Officer

Susanne Gauffin

Equal Opportunity Officer

Folke Tersman

Staff Administrator

Anna Gustafsson

Safety Officer

Tomas Ekenberg

Web Administrator

Johan Löfström